By World of Home Gym · Published

REP PR-4000 vs Titan T-3 vs Rogue R-3: power racks compared on published specs

Quick answer

If you want the most published evidence plus a lifetime frame warranty, pick the REP PR-4000: it is rated at 1,000 lb rackable, uses 3x3 in 11-gauge uprights and starts at $799.94 with free shipping. The Titan T-3 has the highest published ratings (1,100 lb rackable, 4,400 lb whole-rack) and the lowest price, but only a 1-year warranty. The Rogue R-3 is made in the USA with a limited lifetime frame warranty, but Rogue publishes no load rating and requires bolting down.

These three racks come up in nearly every “first serious rack” discussion, and they are the three power racks in our current rankings. Head-to-head reviews often lean on the reviewer’s impressions of feel and finish. We took a narrower approach. Every number below comes from the maker’s own product page, warranty page or support article, or from a U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) notice, all read on 2 November 2026. Where a maker publishes nothing, we say so rather than fill the gap.

This article compares published specifications, warranty terms and official notices. It is not medical or engineering advice. Follow each manufacturer’s assembly and anchoring instructions, set your safeties for every lift, and see a clinician about any injury.

The three racks side by side

Before the detail, here is the core data in one place. Prices change often (Titan’s moved between our 27 October check and this one), so treat them as a snapshot. Dimensions are copied as each brand states them, and the brands do not all measure the same way. We come back to that below.

Published specs, REP PR-4000 vs Titan T-3 (82 x 24 in) vs Rogue R-3 (bolt-together), checked 2 Nov 2026
SpecREP PR-4000Titan T-3 82x24Rogue R-3
Price (2 Nov 2026)From $799.94, free shipping [1]$559.97 sale, reg. $699.99 [5]$870 plus shipping [8]
Upright tube3x3 in, 11-gauge [1]2x3 in, 11-gauge [5]2x3 in, 11-gauge [8]
Hole size / hardware5/8 in holes [1]11/16 in holes [5]5/8 in hardware [8]
Hole spacing1 in in the bench zone, 2 in elsewhere [1]Westside through bench and clean-pull zones, 2 in above and below [5]1 in through bench and clean-pull zone, 2 in above and below [8]
Published rackable capacity1,000 lb [1]1,100 lb [5]Not published [8]
Published whole-rack capacityNot published [1]4,400 lb [5]Not published [8]
Height options80 in or 93 in [1]82 in or 91 in [5]90 3/8 in [8]
Depth options16, 24, 30 or 41 in crossmembers [1]24 in inside (30 in outside); 36 in version listed [5]24 in inside, 30 in option [8]
Bolt-downNot stated on page [1]Recommended [5]Required before use [8]
Frame warrantyLifetime*, original purchaser [2]1 year, paid extension offered [5]Limited lifetime*, original user [9]
Made inDesigned and engineered in USA [1]Not stated on page [5]USA [8]

If you only read one row, read the capacity rows. Two of the three makers publish a rackable figure, one publishes a whole-rack figure too, and one publishes neither. That single gap explains most of the order in our rankings, as our ranking method puts published safety evidence straight after training usefulness.

Load ratings: what each maker actually publishes

REP lists a 1,000 lb rackable weight capacity for the PR-4000 [1]. Titan lists 1,100 lb rackable and 4,400 lb whole-rack for the T-3 82 x 24 in, and separately rates its two included J-hooks at 1,000 lb combined [5]. Titan’s support article repeats the 4,400 lb and 1,100 lb figures [6]. Rogue’s R-3 page lists dimensions, tubing, hardware and included parts, but no load rating of any kind [8].

None of this means the R-3 is weak. It uses the same 2x3 in 11-gauge tube as the T-3, and it has a long history in garage gyms. It means you cannot check your planned loads against a number Rogue stands behind. For most home lifters the difference is academic, since few people rack anything close to 1,000 lb. But the published number is the only thing a buyer can verify, which is why we weigh it. Our explainer on reading rack load ratings covers rackable versus whole-rack capacity and why the J-cups are often the lowest-rated part.

One detail is easy to miss on Titan’s page. The rack is rated at 1,100 lb rackable, but the J-hooks it ships with carry a combined 1,000 lb rating [5]. The weakest component sets your real limit, and on this rack that is the hooks.

Steel and tubing: 3x3 vs 2x3, all 11-gauge

All three use 11-gauge steel, so gauge does not separate them. We covered why gauge alone does not decide rack order in 11-gauge vs 14-gauge. The real difference is tube size. The PR-4000 is 3x3 in [1]. The T-3 and R-3 are both 2x3 in [5] [8].

Tube size matters mostly for attachments. A 3x3 in rack takes 3x3 accessories, and a 2x3 rack takes 2x3 accessories. Mixing brands is possible when tube size and hole size match, but each maker only vouches for its own parts. Hole size differs too: REP and Rogue use 5/8 in holes and hardware [1] [8], while Titan uses 11/16 in holes [5]. Before you plan on adding a third-party landmine or dip station, check both the tube and the pin diameter.

REP also makes a heavier PR-5000 with 1 in pinholes and 2 in spacing. On its own page, REP positions the PR-4000 as the one with tighter 1 in spacing in the bench zone [1]. Forum threads sometimes say REP’s 5/8 in attachment range lags its 1 in range. That is opinion, not a spec, but it is worth checking the attachment list before buying if you expect to grow the rack.

Hole spacing and the bench zone

Hole spacing decides how precisely you can set J-cups and safeties. Close spacing matters most for bench press, where an inch can be the difference between a comfortable unrack and a shoulder-straining reach. All three racks use 1 in spacing through the bench area, which is commonly called Westside spacing. REP gives 1 in spacing in the bench zone and 2 in elsewhere, with laser-cut numbers every five holes [1]. Rogue gives 1 in spacing through the bench and clean-pull zone and 2 in above and below [8].

Titan is where it gets messy. The product page says Westside spacing through the bench and clean-pull zones and 2 in spacing above and below [5]. Titan’s own support article for the T-3 series, updated 27 March 2026, answers the spacing question in different ways in different places. One answer says 2 in centre-to-centre. Another describes 2 in at the top and bottom with 1 in in the middle [6]. We trust the product page for the 82 x 24 in model, but if bench precision matters to you, ask Titan to confirm the spacing for your exact height and depth before ordering.

Height, depth and footprint

Ceiling height is the most common reason people pick one of these racks over another. The PR-4000 comes in 80 in or 93 in [1]. The T-3 comes in 82 in or 91 in, and Titan lists a maximum pull-up bar height of 78 in on the 82 in model [5]. The R-3 is 90 3/8 in tall with the pull-up bar at 7 ft 6 in [8]. If your ceiling is low, the 80 in REP and the 82 in Titan are the only real options of the three. Measure the ceiling and the joists, then leave room to clear your head on pull-ups and on standing overhead presses.

Depth is where the PR-4000 stands out. REP sells crossmember depths of 16, 24, 30 or 41 in [1]. The T-3 lists 24 in inside depth on this model, 30 in outside, and a 36 in depth option [5] [6]. The R-3 offers 24 in inside depth or a 30 in option [8]. A shallow rack saves floor space, while a deeper one gives more room to walk out a squat inside the safeties.

Width needs care because the brands measure it differently. REP lists 50.8 in width [1]. Titan lists 42 in inside width, 46 in outside width and a 54 x 32.75 in footprint [5]. Rogue lists 43 in width and a 53 x 34 in footprint for the 24 in depth [8]. These are not like-for-like numbers. For a bar, the figure that matters is inside width: Olympic bars need the collars clear of the uprights. For the room, the footprint is what counts. If a spec sheet does not say which it is, ask.

Bolting down: required, recommended or unstated

Rogue is explicit: the R-3 must be bolted to the floor before use, and concrete anchors are sold as an add-on [8]. Titan says bolting down is recommended [5]. If you cannot bolt down, Titan’s support article suggests mounting weight-plate holders low on the uprights to improve stability [6]. The PR-4000 page we read did not state a bolt-down requirement [1]. Follow the assembly manual for your exact build, and ask REP if it is unclear.

This matters most for renters and anyone lifting on a raised platform or on stall mats over a suspended floor. A rack that must be bolted down is not the right buy if you cannot drill. Freestanding stability depends on depth, added weight storage and how you use the rack, and none of these makers publishes a tip-over figure.

Warranty: lifetime, limited lifetime and one year

REP lists rack frames and structural welds as covered for life, with an asterisk. The terms apply to the original purchaser, are not transferable and exclude products shipped outside the lower 48 states [2]. Rogue lists frames and structural welds as limited lifetime, also for the original user. Rogue reviews claims case by case and voids cover for negligent use [9]. Titan lists a 1-year warranty on the T-3 page and offers a paid extension through a third party [5].

Read REP’s fine print on dropping. Its warranty page lists abusive dropping of a loaded bar on spotter arms or pins in a rack as negligent use [2]. Safeties are there to catch a failed rep. Dumping every set onto them is a different thing, and it can cost you cover. Buying second-hand matters too: under REP’s and Rogue’s terms, the lifetime cover does not pass to a second owner [2] [9].

Recall history: all accessory recalls, all closed

All three brands have had a rack-accessory recall, and none of them is open. We checked CPSC and the brands’ own recall pages:

Each of these is an accessory, not the rack frame, and each was remedied years ago. Under our editorial policy, an open recall cannot rank above a non-recalled peer. A closed, remedied recall on an accessory is disclosed but does not sink a product. If you are buying used, check the accessories against the dates and SKUs above. That is the practical value of knowing this history.

Price and what is in the box

Comparing sticker prices is misleading because the packages differ. The PR-4000 starts at $799.94 with free shipping. The entry package includes a 1.25 in pull-up bar, standard J-cups and pin-pipe safeties, and higher packages swap in strap or flip-down safeties and add attachments [1]. The T-3 at $559.97 includes both a 1.25 in and a 2 in fat pull-up bar plus two J-hooks [5]. The R-3 at $870 includes a fat/skinny pull-up bar, two J-cups, two pin/pipe safeties and four band pegs. Shipping is extra [8].

On rated capacity per dollar, using our own arithmetic from the listed prices, the T-3 works out to about $0.51 per rackable pound and the PR-4000 to about $0.80. The R-3 cannot be compared this way because there is no rating to divide by. Price per pound is a blunt tool, though. It ignores warranty length, and the warranty gap between one year and lifetime is the biggest non-spec difference here.

What competitors usually miss

Buyer’s checklist before you order

  1. Measure ceiling height at the rack spot, then compare it with the 80/93 in, 82/91 in and 90 3/8 in options.
  2. Decide whether you can bolt down. If not, rule out the R-3, which requires it.
  3. Write down your heaviest planned rack load and check it against the lowest-rated part, usually the J-cups.
  4. Confirm hole spacing in the bench zone for your exact model and size.
  5. Price the package you actually need, including shipping and the safeties you want.
  6. Read the warranty terms, especially if you might sell the rack or move abroad.
  7. If buying used, check accessories against the recall SKUs and dates above.

How we ranked them, and when the order would change

Our scoring is lexicographic, not a blended score. Training usefulness comes first, then safety and build evidence, then space and value. All three train the same lifts, so the decision moves to evidence. The PR-4000 combines a published rackable figure, 3x3 in tubing, a lifetime frame warranty and 1 in bench-zone spacing. The T-3 has the highest published ratings and the lowest price, but a one-year warranty. The R-3 has strong build and warranty terms but no published rating, so it gives us the fewest cited numbers. The full order and rationale are on the Titan T-3 card and the Rogue R-3 card, and our research page explains sources.

The order would change if Rogue published a load rating, if Titan extended its warranty, or if any of these racks gained an open recall. Standards claims would count too. None of the three pages mentions ISO 20957 or ASTM F3105 today. Our guide to what home gym safety standards cover explains why that is normal for US home racks, and what those standards would and would not tell you.

Bottom line

Choose the REP PR-4000 if you want a published rating, the widest choice of heights and depths, and a lifetime frame warranty. Choose the Titan T-3 if budget or a low ceiling decides it, and accept the one-year warranty and check the hook rating. Choose the Rogue R-3 if US manufacturing matters to you and you can bolt down. Ask Rogue for a load figure if you need one in writing. Whichever you pick, set the safeties on every heavy set. For how we keep this comparison current, see about us and the journal.

FAQ

Which is stronger, the Titan T-3 or the REP PR-4000?

On published numbers, the T-3: Titan lists 1,100 lb rackable and 4,400 lb whole-rack, while REP lists 1,000 lb rackable for the PR-4000. Titan’s included J-hooks are rated at 1,000 lb combined, so the hooks are the limit in practice.

Does the Rogue R-3 have a weight rating?

Not on its product page as of 2 November 2026. Rogue lists 2x3 in 11-gauge uprights and 5/8 in hardware but no rackable or whole-rack figure. Ask Rogue directly if you need a number in writing.

Do I have to bolt down these racks?

Rogue says the R-3 must be bolted down before use. Titan recommends bolting the T-3, and suggests low plate storage if you cannot. The PR-4000 page we read did not state a requirement, so follow REP’s assembly manual for your build.

Is the REP PR-4000 recalled?

No. In 2021 REP recalled strap-safety brackets sold with the PR-4000 and PR-5000 from mid to late 2020, and replaced them free. The rack itself was not recalled, and we found no open recall in November 2026.

Which rack fits a low ceiling best?

The 80 in PR-4000 or the 82 in T-3, which has a 78 in maximum pull-up bar height. The R-3 is 90 3/8 in tall. Leave headroom for pull-ups and overhead pressing on top of the rack height.

Is the lifetime warranty transferable if I buy used?

Not under REP or Rogue terms. Both tie frame cover to the original purchaser or user, and REP also excludes products outside the lower 48 states. Titan’s standard cover is one year.

References

  1. REP Fitness. PR-4000 Power Rack (Pre-Selected). Accessed 2026-11-02.
  2. REP Fitness. Warranty Information. Accessed 2026-11-02.
  3. REP Fitness. Recall Information: Strap Safety Recall 4000 and 5000 Series. Accessed 2026-11-02.
  4. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Rep Fitness Recalls Strap Safety Brackets Due to Injury Hazard (21-721). Accessed 2026-11-02.
  5. Titan Fitness. T-3 Series Power Rack 82" x 24". Accessed 2026-11-02.
  6. Titan Fitness Support. T-3 Power Rack Series (support FAQ, updated 27 March 2026). Accessed 2026-11-02.
  7. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Titan Recalls Weight Lifting Safety Straps Due to Injury Hazard (18-767). Accessed 2026-11-02.
  8. Rogue Fitness. Rogue R-3 Power Rack (Bolt-Together). Accessed 2026-11-02.
  9. Rogue Fitness. Warranty. Accessed 2026-11-02.
  10. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Rogue Fitness Barbell Brackets Recalled by Coulter Ventures Due to Injury Hazard (11-193). Accessed 2026-11-02.