By World of Home Gym · Published
Horse stall mats vs gym tiles: home gym flooring compared
Quick answer
Ranked REP 4×6 (88 lb) and Rogue 6×4 (~100 lb) rubber sheets are the stall-style mats we score. Neither publishes an impact rating, so that column is “—” [1][2]. Cited unit prices are about $3.21/sq ft (REP $76.99) and $2.49/sq ft (Rogue $1,495/25) [1][2]. Foam puzzle tiles are not drop flooring. Eleiko’s bar PDF wants ≥30 mm of rubber; a 0.75 in sheet is about 19 mm [3].
Shoppers typing this comparison usually want one answer: should a garage gym use thick rubber sheets sold as stall-style mats, or interlocking tiles marketed for gyms. The honest split is thickness, mass, seams and what the maker actually publishes — not a drop-test number we do not have. This guide stays on the two flooring SKUs we rank, REP 4′×6′ Floor Mats and the Rogue Gym Mat 25-piece bundle, then places interlocking tiles and foam puzzle packs in competitor-guide context only [1][2][7].
This article summarises published specifications and official notices. It is not safety, medical, legal or engineering advice. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions and the official recall notice, and see a clinician about any injury.
Why shoppers compare stall-style rubber with gym tiles
SERP pages treat “stall mats” and “gym tiles” as two product families with a single winner. In practice you are choosing a sheet size, a thickness, a smell profile and a handling problem. Rubber 4×6 (or 6×4) sheets are heavy enough that they rarely skate under a rack; interlocking tiles are lighter and easier to carry upstairs. Foam puzzle packs sit in a third bucket that competitor guides themselves flag as not for dropped bars [7].
Our ranking method does not invent an impact rating to break the tie. Both ranked mats list no published drop/impact figure, so that column stays “—” [1][2]. That is the same honesty rule we use when a rack omits a rackable number in reading rack load ratings. Flooring also does not raise what a suspended wood floor can carry — it protects finishes and can be a warranty condition, as we cover in home gym warranties compared.
What the three flooring families actually are
Stall-style rubber sheets are large recycled-rubber rectangles at the 0.75 in height both ranked SKUs print [1][2]. Rogue’s product copy still describes the updated Gym Mat as heavy-duty rubber matting “used regularly in the agricultural and shipping industries,” with a pebble top, grooved bottom and pre-trimmed edges [2]. REP’s 4′×6′ mats are urethane-bound recycled rubber, laser-cut, untextured on top, with a stated ½ in tolerance [1].
Interlocking gym tiles (rubber, not foam) are smaller squares or rectangles with puzzle or pin edges. Competitor guides describe them as lighter (often a few pounds each), easier to cut and relocate, and available in more colours — with the caveat that thinner tiles are not a substitute for this rubber class in a drop zone [7]. We do not rank a tile SKU today, so we do not paste a brand’s unpublished lb rating onto that family.
Foam puzzle tiles (EVA and similar) are the cheap interlocking packs sold for playrooms and light cardio. GarageGymBuilders’ flooring guide — cited here as SERP context, not as a lab — says foam tiles “are not appropriate for any training that involves dropped weights, heavy equipment, or loaded barbells” because they compress, tear and do not protect concrete [7]. That is a use-class warning, not a World of Home Gym drop test.
Ranked stall-style mats: REP 4×6 vs Rogue 6×4
The table is built only from our rankings data and the cited brand pages, re-checked 7 November 2026. Unknown published ratings stay “—”. We searched CPSC, and found no open flooring / stall-mat / gym-tile recall on these SKUs in that pass [8].
| Spec | REP 4′×6′ Floor Mats (3/4 in) | Rogue Gym Mat 6′×4′×3/4 in (25-piece) |
|---|---|---|
| Rankings anchor | /rankings#rep-4x6-floor-mats | /rankings#rogue-gym-mat-25 |
| Listed size / thickness | 47 × 71 in × 3/4 in; ½ in tolerance [1] | 6 × 4 ft × 0.75 in [2] |
| Weight | 88 lb/mat [1] | ~100 lb/mat (Gear Specs: 100 LB) [2] |
| Material / origin | Urethane-bound recycled rubber; made in USA [1] | Recycled rubber; Made In USA: No [2] |
| Surface | Untextured top [1] | Pebble top / grooved bottom [2] |
| Odour note (brand) | Urethane-bound: less odor; air out a few days [1] | “do not have odor mitigate”; may need shimming [2] |
| Published impact / drop rating | — [1] | — [2] |
| Warranty on mat page / our card | — (not stated on the mat page) [1][5] | — (not stated on the mat page) [2][6] |
| Open recall | No [1][8] | No [2][8] |
| Price snapshot (data) | $301.30 listed; chart line $76.99; min order 3 [1] | $1,495 for 25 (compare-at $1,750) [2] |
| Buyable increment | Minimum 3 mats [1] | 25-mat bundle (~600 sq ft at 24 sq ft each) [2] |
REP’s live page still shows a Regular price $301.30 next to a chart line 4′×6′ Floor Mats — $76.99 and a minimum order quantity of 3 [1]. Our products card records that split as-is because the per-quantity basis of $301.30 is not stated clearly. We use $76.99 for cost-per-square-foot math below and disclose the listed figure so nobody treats $301.30 as a silent 3-pack total we invented.
Rogue’s 25-piece Black bundle remains $1,495.00 on the page we fetched, with a compare-at $1,750.00 [2]. That pack is a warehouse-scale buy. It is a poor match for a single 8×8 ft platform even if the per-mat economics look cheap.
Cost per square foot from the prices we can cite
Nominal coverage for a 4×6 ft (or 6×4 ft) rectangle is 24 sq ft. REP’s listed cut is slightly smaller (47 × 71 in = 3,337 sq in ≈ 23.17 sq ft) [1]. Rogue’s Gear Specs still print 6′ × 4′ [2]. We show both the nominal 24 sq ft math the brief asks for and the REP cut-size check.
- REP at the $76.99 chart line: $76.99 ÷ 24 sq ft ≈ $3.21/sq ft. Using the 47 × 71 in cut: $76.99 ÷ 23.17 ≈ $3.32/sq ft [1].
- REP listed $301.30: per-quantity basis unclear in our data — we do not convert that figure into a per-mat or per-sq-ft claim [1].
- Rogue at $1,495 / 25: $59.80 per mat; $59.80 ÷ 24 sq ft ≈ $2.49/sq ft. Compare-at $1,750 / 25 = $70.00 per mat ≈ $2.92/sq ft [2].
- Minimum buy: REP’s smallest order is 3 mats (about 72 sq ft nominal if you use 24 sq ft each) [1]. Rogue’s SKU we rank is 25 mats (about 600 sq ft) [2].
Competitor guides often quote farm-store stall mats near $50 (for example GarageGymBuilders citing Tractor Supply around $49.99 / about $2.08 per sq ft) [7]. That is their vendor estimate, not a price on our rankings cards, and we do not treat it as a World of Home Gym figure. If you shop a generic stall mat, copy the live ticket price and weigh the sheet yourself — do not borrow our REP or Rogue rows.
Thickness, weight and how they handle
Both ranked products print 0.75 in / 3/4" height [1][2]. 0.75 × 25.4 = 19.05 mm (about 19 mm). That is the number that matters later against Eleiko’s ≥30 mm rubber clause [3]. Thickness here is a published dimension, not a certified drop rating.
Mass is the practical handling spec. REP prints 88 lbs/Mat [1]. Rogue prints 100 LB product weight and “approx. 100 LBs per individual mat” in the story copy [2]. A single 88–100 lb sheet is a two-person carry; cutting it to an alcove is slow work. Interlocking tiles win that job because each piece is light. They lose when a rack foot walks a light tile out of its puzzle joint — a failure mode competitor guides mention for foam and thin tiles [7].
REP states a ½ in tolerance and says a small gap does not affect function [1]. Rogue says mats “may require shimming if a perfectly level surface is required” and that recycled rubber “may contain color variations” [2]. Neither page publishes a flatness spec we can turn into a millimetre table, so extra flatness stays “—”.
Odour: urethane-bound vs no odor mitigation
REP’s FAQ line is specific: “The urethane bound mats have less odor, but we still suggest lying them out and allowing them to air out for a few days” [1]. That is brand language for a bound recycled-rubber sheet, not a lab VOC result. Plan a few days of ventilation anyway.
Rogue’s note is equally specific and less comforting: “This Rogue Gym Mats do not have odor mitigate and may require shimming if a perfectly level surface is required” [2]. We repeat that wording rather than softening it. If you are covering a basement with limited airflow, the 25-mat bundle is a large off-gassing load to stage at once. We do not invent a cure time Rogue did not print.
Seams, shifting and cutting
Large sheets have fewer seams per square foot than 24×24 in tiles. Weight then does most of the anti-shift work: 88–100 lb per sheet is why people put them under racks without adhesive [1][2]. Tiles rely on the interlocking edge. If those edges round off, competitor guides report gaps and curl [7].
Cutting this rubber class is the usual complaint. We are not going to paste a DIY knife tutorial as engineering advice. Follow the seller’s handling notes and measure twice against the actual 47×71 in REP cut rather than a perfect 48×72 in [1]. Rogue’s Gear Specs still print 6×4 ft; recycled sheets can vary, so dry-fit before you commit to a layout [2].
For a REP PR-4000 or Rogue R-3 footprint, a few 4×6 sheets under the four posts plus a deadlift lane is the usual pattern competitor guides call “zone coverage” [7]. We still want the rack’s published load path — J-cups, straps, bolt-down — read separately; mats are not a substitute for safeties or for the myths we unpack in home gym safety myths.
Eleiko’s ≥30 mm flooring condition vs 3/4 in
The Eleiko IWF Weightlifting Training Bar 20 kg carries a Limited Lifetime term in our data, citing Eleiko’s PDF: cover requires at least 30 mm of rubber flooring, among other use conditions [3][4]. Rogue’s retail warranty table separately lists Eleiko “lifetime” as 10 years with platform and disc language [6]. Those are brand documents, not legal advice from us. Read the current PDF before you rely on the term.
0.75 in ≈ 19.05 mm, which is below 30 mm. A single layer of either ranked mat does not, on published thickness, meet that ≥30 mm rubber-cushioning condition [1][2][3]. Stacking rubber or adding a platform with extra millimetres are the usual ways people close the gap — we do not certify any stack as “Eleiko-legal.” If the warranty path matters, measure the finished rubber and keep the PDF version you bought under.
The same clause is why “mats make any drop safe” fails as a slogan. Flooring can be a warranty condition and a surface protector. It does not rewrite a selector failure, a missed safety set or a load rating the maker never published. That is the flooring half of home gym safety myths and of home gym warranties compared.
When a lifting platform still helps
A platform (plywood centre with rubber wings, or a branded insert) is a construction, not a mat SKU. People add one for a firmer standing surface, a defined drop zone, or extra rubber toward that 30 mm conversation [3][7]. Competitor guides often pair stall-style sheets in the drop zone with thinner tiles in a cardio corner — zoning, not a rating we assign [7].
A platform does not increase the live load of a joisted floor. If you train above a living space, the limiting number is the structure and the rack’s published ratings, not the durometer of the rubber. Treat this paragraph as a pointer to the maker manuals and to reading rack load ratings, not as an engineering sign-off.
Why foam puzzle tiles are not drop flooring
Foam interlocking packs show up in the same shopping query because they are cheap and look like “gym floor” in a product photo. The GarageGymBuilders guide we cite puts them in a cardio/bodyweight bucket and says they compress under heavy rack loads and give “zero concrete protection during barbell drops” [7]. We are not repeating invented peak-force numbers from that page. We are repeating the use-class point: foam is not a published substitute for this rubber class in a drop lane.
If your heaviest work is a rower and unweighted floor work, foam can be a comfort layer. The moment a loaded bar or a rack foot is in the picture, look at the rubber thickness the maker will put in writing — and still show “—” where they omit an impact rating, as we do for REP and Rogue [1][2].
What competitors usually miss
- No published drop rating on the ranked mats. “Ample impact resistance” on a marketing page is not a test number; we show “—” [1][2].
- REP’s $76.99 vs $301.30 split. Guides that quote one figure without the min-3 chart line misstate the ticket [1].
- Rogue is a 25-pack. Per-mat $2.49/sq ft does not help a 96 sq ft room that cannot store 600 sq ft of rubber [2].
- 19 mm vs Eleiko ≥30 mm. Stall-style sheets at the ranked height do not automatically satisfy that bar-warranty path [3].
- Foam is not “budget stall mats.” Competitor guides already separate foam from drop zones; copy that split, not farm-store dollar figures, as if they were ours [7].
- Odour notes are brand-specific. Urethane-bound “less odor” is not the same as Rogue’s “do not have odor mitigate” [1][2].
Buyer’s checklist before you cover the slab
- Measure the room and the actual mat cut (47 × 71 in on REP, not a perfect 4×6) [1].
- Decide stall-style sheets vs interlocking rubber tiles vs foam by use zone, not by catalogue photos [7].
- Copy weight (88 lb vs ~100 lb) and plan a two-person unload [1][2].
- Write “—” for impact/drop if the maker publishes none — do not fill from forums [1][2].
- If an Eleiko bar warranty matters, compare finished rubber millimetres to the ≥30 mm PDF condition [3][4].
- Air out urethane-bound sheets for the few days REP suggests; treat Rogue’s no-mitigation note as a ventilation warning [1][2].
- Search CPSC (and Health Canada / OPSS if you buy abroad) for the flooring brand — we found no open mat recall on these SKUs on 7 November 2026 [8].
- Compare live rankings cards so price, origin and odor notes sit next to the empty drop-rating column.
Bottom line
Buy stall-style rubber when you want mass on the floor and you can handle 88–100 lb sheets; buy interlocking rubber tiles when you need to carry pieces up stairs; keep foam out of drop and rack zones [1][2][7]. On published evidence the REP 4×6 is the small-lot, USA-made, urethane-bound option at about $3.21/sq ft on the $76.99 chart line; the Rogue 25-pack is the large-lot, no-odor-mitigation option at about $2.49/sq ft [1][2]. Neither prints a drop rating, and 19 mm is not 30 mm if you care about Eleiko’s flooring clause [3]. For method see research, editorial policy and about; for more reading start at the journal or FAQ. Rogue’s wider published-evidence story is in our Rogue Fitness review.
FAQ
Are stall-style mats thick enough for an Eleiko bar warranty?
Not on millimetres alone. Eleiko’s limited-lifetime PDF requires at least 30 mm of rubber cushioning. A 0.75 in sheet is about 19 mm, so a single ranked mat layer sits below that figure. This is not legal advice — read the current PDF.
Do REP or Rogue publish a drop rating for these mats?
No. Our cards show “—” for impact/drop on both the REP 4×6 and the Rogue Gym Mat. Marketing phrases about durability are not a substitute for a published test number.
Why does REP’s page show both $76.99 and $301.30?
The product page we fetched lists Regular price $301.30, a chart line at $76.99, and a minimum order of 3. Our data treats the $301.30 basis as unclear, so cost-per-sq-ft math uses the $76.99 chart line and discloses the listed figure.
Will interlocking gym tiles stay put under a power rack?
It depends on tile mass, edge type and the subfloor. Heavy 3/4 in sheets rely on 88–100 lb of rubber per piece. Lighter tiles rely on the interlock. We do not rank a tile SKU, so we do not invent a stay-put rating.
Are foam puzzle tiles OK under a treadmill?
Competitor guides treat foam as a cardio or bodyweight comfort layer, not as protection for dropped bars or heavy rack feet. Follow the treadmill maker’s floor instructions; foam is still not drop flooring.
Did you find a recall on these floor mats?
On 7 November 2026 we found no open CPSC flooring, stall-mat or gym-tile recall on the ranked REP and Rogue SKUs. Recheck the live CPSC list before you buy used mats.
References
- REP Fitness. 4′×6′ Floor Mats. Accessed 2026-11-07.
- Rogue Fitness. Rogue Gym Mats — 25 Piece Bundle Black. Accessed 2026-11-07.
- Eleiko. Eleiko Limited Lifetime Warranty (PDF, documentid=315). Accessed 2026-11-07.
- Eleiko. IWF Weightlifting Training Bar, 20 kg, men. Accessed 2026-11-07.
- REP Fitness. Warranty Information. Accessed 2026-11-07.
- Rogue Fitness. Warranty. Accessed 2026-11-07.
- GarageGymBuilders. Garage Gym Flooring Guide. Accessed 2026-11-07.
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Recalls. Accessed 2026-11-07.